New Hampshire’s “live free or die” motto is perfectly reflected in its vehicle and auto insurance laws. Car Insurance in NH is not legally a requirement. New Hampshire is one of the two states in the United States that doesn’t need you to have car insurance.
The Granite State is one of the most scenic states in the U.S. From scenic drives in the White Mountains to driving so that you can splash in the sparkling water of Lake Winnipesaukee, you will enjoy driving through New Hampshire.
New Hampshire has many granite rock formations due to which it is known as the Granite State. Since it has a mountain range with the name White Mountain, it is also known as White Mountain State. It is also called Mother of Rivers and finally, the Switzerland of America. Whatever the name, no one can deny that New Hampshire is extremely beautiful.
Along with no requirement for taking auto insurance in New Hampshire, you also have the advantage of getting the lowest insurance premium quotes in NH. New Hampshire on an average is the 6th lowest state when it comes to the cost of car insurance. This could be because New Hampshire has the lowest car repair cost on an average in the nation. Since the cost of fixing the car after an accident is low, the insurance risk reduces which means lower premiums.
If you decide to take insurance in NH, the minimum coverage you will need is:
- $25,000 per person bodily injury liability.
- $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability.
- $25,000 per accident property damage liability.
- $25,000 per uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage.
- $50,000 per accident uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury.
- $25,000 per accident uninsured/underinsured property damage.
- $1,000 in medical payments coverage.
If you decide not to opt for car insurance in NH, you will have to give proof of financial responsibility. You will have to keep a deposit of securities or money with the NH state treasury.
If you have been convicted with the below offenses, you will need to buy auto insurance in New Hampshire:
- Underage DWI.
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI).
- Leaving the accident scene.
- Your conduct after a previous accident.
- A second offense of reckless driving.
- Assault or homicide due to driving.
If you commit any of the above offenses, you will need to have auto insurance in New Hampshire for the next three years. If you commit another similar offense, the time period may be extended. You can check more details on New Hampshire’s car insurance laws here.
Even though New Hampshire doesn’t need you to have car insurance by law, it makes sense to take car insurance. This is because if you get into an accident and it is your fault, you will need to cough up the dough. Instead, you can take advantage of the low car insurance rates in NH and be tension-free. We can help you to choose the best auto insurance in New Hampshire.
Factors that Determine Car Insurance in NH
Prices in the state vary with Keene, Concord, and Lebanon having on an average the cheapest car insurance in NH and Manchester, Salem and Kingston having on an average the highest car insurance in New Hampshire. There are other factors too that play an important role when it comes to your car insurance premium. Since auto repair costs in NH are low, the make and model of your car is important. The more common your car’s make and model, the lower will be the premium. Other factors like your age, your driving record (and if you have committed any of the offenses mentioned above), etc are important. This is why it is best to check the various car insurance in NH plans and decide which one is the best for you.
Types of Coverage for Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
If you opt for auto insurance in New Hampshire, you will have to take property and body insurance liability. You will also have to take underinsured and uninsured body and property insurance liability. You will have to take medical payments coverage. In addition to that, you can also opt for collision coverage and comprehensive coverage. Depending on the type and amount of cover you choose, the insurance rate will vary. It is always advisable to take a higher amount as compared to the minimum so that in an accident caused by you, you won’t have to pay the difference from your pocket. You can also check the best car insurance companies in the United States.
When you take car insurance in New Hampshire make sure that you do so only from reputed insurers. You can check the reviews and ratings of the car insurance company with NAIC (national association of insurance commissioners).